Maa Durga Chalisa

The Holy God Durga Mantra's

Navaratri 2017

The celebration of the Navratri festival

Navratri, the festival of nights is the nine-day festival dedicated to Lord Maa Durga by Hindus in all parts of the world. The nine days represent the nine manifestations of Goddess Durga. Navratri comes from the Sanskrit word “nava” denoting nine and “ratri” which is night. During this festival of nine nights, the nine forms of Shakti (also known as Navdurga) are worshiped across the country

Navratri festival is the most auspicious time for worshipping these forms of Goddess Durga. The tenth day of this festival is called Vijayadashami or Dussehra (Dasara) when the idols of Durga are immersed in water.Although Navratri festival is celebrated all over India, festivities reach their peak in Gujarat, Maharashtra and southern parts of Karnataka, where people celebrate Sharad Navratri with the Garba dance. In West Bengal, the last four days of Sharad Navratri are celebrated as Durga Puja. It is believed that Durga, the divine mother, had destroyed the evil forces of the demon Mahisashura during this time.

Celebrated at the start of the autumn season, Shardiya Navratri is the most important Navratri and is called Maha Navratri or Great Navratri. It falls on the first day of the bright fortnight of the lunar month of Ashwin.

The nine manifestations of Goddess Durga worshiped on these nine days are

  • Shailputri,
  • Brahmcharni,
  • Chandraghanta,
  • Kushmanda,
  • Skandamata,
  • Katyayani,
  • Kalratri,
  • Mahagauri,
  • Siddhidatri

Navratri-The Nine Day Festival

In every year, during the lunar month of the Ashwin or the Karthik. Hindus observe the ten days of ceremonies with the spirit and the feasts in admiration to the supreme mother goddess Maa Durga. From the ten days, every person worships the goddess Durga with the various  Mantra. This festival begins with the feast of Navarathri and it ends with the festivals of Dussehra along with the Vijayadashami.

This navarthri festival is devoted to all the goddess, and this goddess is namely Bhavani, Amba, Durga, Gauri, Parvati, Chandika, Mahisasuramardhini and many more names. Whereas, the name Durga is inaccessible. She is the only goddess that represents all the fuming powers of the male gods as well as she is the vicious protector that destroys all the evils in the world.

What we do with Navratri

All the Hindu people celebrated this festival at the same period at the different ways in different parts of India and all around the world. Therefore, in the north of the country, the first nine days of this Durga Pooja are usually called as the Navarathri festival. Whereas, in the western part of India, throughout the nine days, all the men and women take part in the special kind of dance.

On the south side, the last tenth day is especially celebrated and this is named as the Dusshera and this tenth day is celebrated with a lot of enthusiasm. The eastern people are only much crazy about this  Durga festival from the seventh day onwards till the tenth day of this annual festival. In many temples, people arranged gold with a different god and goddess as well as offer prasad for those who participated in the Navratri function.

In how many states we celebrate Navratri with great prompt

In the many States of India, Navratri festival is celebrated with the great prompt. In India, there is a land of many religions, cultures as well as they encompassing the festival with the god and the goddess. The Navratri in the Hindu festival is considered as the unique ten-day festival that goes for a period of nine nights and ten days.

The Navratri festival starts from the spring or the autumn. The various features of Sri mahishasura mardhini  are worshiped for all the ten days with a lot of joy and spirit. There are actually five Navratri days dedicated to the worship of goddess shakti. Out of these, three traditions are upheld in nowadays. These are Sharad Navratri, ashaada Navratri, and Vasant Navratri.

Different days in Navratri

The nine days of the Navratri pooja is assumed with different categories. The first day is called as the shailaputri and she is considered as the daughter of the Himalayas. The second day, the goddess is formed as the brahmacharya, and it is a kind of maha shakti. On the final and the ninth day, the God is worshiped as the siddhidatri and it is Strongly believed that she consists of all the eight siddhis as well as she lives on the lotus flower.

Navratri Tradition

Navaratri is celebrated Two times a year but Technically it is celebrated five times a year. They are  Ashadha Navaratri, Vasanta Navaratri,  the Paush/Magha Navratri, the Magha Navaratri, and the Sharad Navaratri, And . Of these, the Sharad Navaratri of the month of Puratashi and the Vasanta Navaratri of the Vasantha Kala are the most important. The other two are observed by Shaktas only.

  1.  Vasanta Navaratri or Basant Navratri: It is also known as Chaitra Navratri and is one of the two most recognized Navratri in a year. Rama Navratri is the festival of nine days dedicated to the nine forms of Shakti in spring (March–April).
  2. Gupt Navaratri: This Navratri falls in Hindu month-Ashadha, so it is called Ashadha Navratri or Shakambhari Navratri. Ashadha Navratri falls in Shukla Paksha or waxing phase of moon in June-July.
  3.  Sharana Navaratri: Maha Navratri is the second most recognized Navratri, celebrated in Ashwin month. It is also known as Sharadeeya Navratri and falls in September-October i.e. during Sharad.
  4.  Poushya Navaratri: Poushya Navratri is nine perfect nights in Porsha which corresponds with English months, December–January. The Shukla Paksha of Poushya initiates this Navaratri.
  5.  Magha Navaratri: Magha Navratri is also a kind of Gupt Navratri. The waxing phase of moon in January–February marks the beginning of Magha Navaratri.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maa Durga Chalisa © 2016     About Us    Privacy Policy    Terms Of Service    Sitemap